My Ships

During my seafaring time in the DSR-Lines I joint different ships as Radio-Officer, brought into service new built ships or controlled ship repairs. But three ships are my top favourites, because they have been important steps in my personal career.

MS "J.G. Fichte" - the training-ship, we joint it as trainees from navigation and got first experiences with seafaring and practice in radiocommunications. Unforgettable are the nights in the bar “Hippodrome”, long nights playing “Skat” or shoreleaving time at Cuba and Mexico.

MV “Stralsund” – my first ship as radio-officer – running between Rostock and East- and Westafrica , sometimes around the Cape of Good Hope. Unforgettable the first voyage with the main transmitter complete down in the North Sea an I had to new wire on the back side of the transmitter housing a lot, because of destroyed isolation. Also unforgettable are voyages with sheeps or cows on board.

MV “Karl Marx” – a fast liner ship always on far east trip , for me as sailor the best voyages. Not only why we had a collision during maiden voyage in Tokyo Bay and spent 4 weeks in Kawasaki ship yard for repair. All far east countries have been interesting adventures during long shore leaving trips, and also stories about the cargo should get a place in the stories.

Meine Schiffe

Während meiner Seefahrtzeit bin ich auf mehreren Schiffen der DSR-Deutsche Seereederei als Funkoffizier gefahren, habe sie mit Indienst gestellt oder Reparaturen beaufsichtigt. Aber 3 Schiffe sind mir besonders "ans Herz" gewachsen, da sie wesentliche Etappen in meiner Entwicklung waren:

MS "J.G. Fichte" - das Lehr und Ausbildungsschiff, auf dem wir als Praktikanten der Seefahrtschule erste Erfahrungen mit der Seefahrt und der Praxis im Funkraum machen konnten. Unvergessen sind die Barabende im "Hippodrom" , die nächtelangen Skatrunden oder die Landgänge in Kuba und Mexiko.

MS "Stralsund" - mein erstes Schiff als alleiniger Funkoffizier in der Ost- und Westafrika-Relation eingesetzt. Unvergesslich die erste Reise, als bereits im Kanal der Hauptsender total ausfiel und ich an der Gehäuserückseite neue Kabel verlegen musste, da die Isolierung total weggeschmort war. Ebenso unvergesslich die Reisen mit Decksladung Schafe oder Kühe.

MS "Karl Marx" - der Schnellfrachter in der Fernostfahrt, für mich das schönste Fahrtgebiet. Und gleich auf der Jungfernreise eine Kollision in der Tokiobucht mit 4 Wochen Werftzeit in der "Kawasaki"-Werft in Tokio. Erlebnisse auf langen und ausgedehnten Ausflügen, aufregende Ladungsge-schichten sind bleibende Erinnerungen und sollen in den Stories ihren Platz finden.